NSUF Article

Save the Date: NSUF Annual Users Organization Meeting

Thursday, May 26, 2022 - Users Org

The Executive Committee of the NSUF Users Organization is pleased to announce the 2022 Annual NSUF Users Organization Meeting. 

The Users Organization Meeting will take place online July 12 and July 13, 2022 from 8:00-11:00 AM Mountain Time. Join the Zoom meeting here - Password: 231519.

This meeting will highlight additions and upgrades to NSUF capabilities and research achievements from NSUF sponsored projects.

We are excited to hear from the Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy, Dr. Kathryn Huff and the NSUF Director, Dr. Rory Kennedy.

The meeting will also feature:

  • Rapid Student Presentations: current and past student users are encouraged to present results of NSUF research and share experiences with user facilities. Students will compete for the Best Student Presentation award, given at the town hall meeting. 
    • To participate, submit a short abstract to nsuf-users@inl.gov by June 30, 2022.
  • Workshops: led by experts to provide insight on preparing NSUF proposals, including in situ ion irradiation in a TEM, high dose ion irradiation, and neutron irradiation.
  • Town Hall: to provide input on NSUF operations.

Virtual Event Schedule

Schedule Last Updated: 07/11/2022

July 12, 2022 - Day 1

08:00 AM (Mountain Time) - Introductions

08:00-08:05 am: Gabriel Meric, NSUF Users Organization Committee Chair and Lead Engineer, Kairos Power 

08:05-08:45 am: Rory Kennedy, Director, NSUF

08:45-09:00 am: Q&A

09:00 AM - New NSUF Capabilities and Upgrades

09:00-09:10 am: High Performance Computing (Matt Anderson, HPC Department Manager, Idaho National Laboratory)

09:10-09:20 am: Michigan Ion Beam Laboratory (Kevin Field, Associate Professor, University of Michigan)

09:20-09:30 am: IVEM (Wei-Ying Chen, Principal Materials Scientist, Argonne National Laboratory)

09:30-09:40 am: TEM in CAES (Yaqiao Wu, Research Professor, Boise State University)

09:40-09:50 am: Nuclear Fuels and Materials Library (Kelly Cunningham, NSUF NFML Coordinator)

09:50-10:00 am: Activated Materials Laboratory (Jon Almer, Group Leader, Argonne National Laboratory)

10:00 AM – Break and Q&A

10:15 AM - Student RTE Highlights

Best Student Presentation award announced on Day 2. Abstract submission required.

10:15: Robert McRobie (North Carolina State University) - Radiation Induced Vacancy Formation in Gallium Oxide Nuclear Sensors

10:20: Jingfan Yang (Auburn University) - The Origin of Superior IASCC Resistance of Additively Manufactured 316L Stainless Steel After Hot Isostatic Pressing in Oxygenated BWR Water

10:25: Nicole Rodriguez (Purdue University) - Three-dimensional Porosity Distribution in Irradiated U-10Zr Fuel

10:30: Ryan Chesser (The Ohio State University) - Non-Centrosymmetric Structures for Nuclear Reactor Sensors

10:35: Jake Quincey (Oregon State University) - Probing Nuances of Irradiation-Enhanced Precipitation in FeCrAl Alloys

10:40: Calvin Parkin (University of Wisconsin-Madison) - In-Situ Microstructural Evolution in Face-Centered Cubic Compositionally Complex Alloys Under Single- and Dual-Beam Heavy-Ion Irradiation

11:00 AM - Adjourn

July 13, 2022 - Day 2

08:00 AM (Mountain Time) - Keynote Speaker

Dr. Kathryn Huff, Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy

08:30 AM - NSUF CINR Highlights

08:30-08:45 am: High Power Irradiation Testing of TRISO Fuel Particles with UCO and UO2 Kernels in Miniature Fuel Specimen Capsules in HFIR (Ryan Latta, Principal Engineer, Kairos Power)

08:45-09:00 am: Radiation Effects on Optical Fiber Sensor Fused Smart Alloy Parts with Graded Alloy Composition Manufactured by Additive Manufacturing Processes (Kevin Chen, Professor, University of Pittsburgh)

09:00-09:15 am: NSUF Funded Advancements for GE’s Accident Tolerant Fuel Program (Andrew Hoffman, Lead Scientist, GE Research)

09:15-09:30 am: Neutron Radiation Effect on Diffusion between Zr (and Zircaloy) and Cr for Accurate Lifetime Prediction of ATF (Ji-Cheng Zhao, Professor, University of Maryland)

09:30 AM - Workshops

Attendees can choose among three 45-minute interactive workshops to hear and engage with experts on the following topics:

- In situ TEM irradiation (led by Khalid Hattar, Staff Scientist, Los Alamos National Laboratory)

- Neutron irradiation (led by David Carpenter, Head of Irradiation Engineering, MIT Nuclear Reactor Laboratory)

- High performance computing (led by Matt Anderson, HPC Department Manager, Idaho National Laboratory)

10:15 AM - Break

10:30 AM - Users Organization Town Hall, Elections

An opportunity for the users to provide input on operations that impact users.

11:00 AM - Adjourn

Join the Zoom meeting - Password: 231519