NSUF marks tenth anniversary

Nuclear Science User Facilities marks tenth anniversary

April 13, 2017, marks the tenth anniversary of the Nuclear Science User Facilities (NSUF).


NSUF was established April 13, 2007, when the U.S. Department of Energy?s Office of Nuclear Energy officially designated INL's Advanced Test Reactor as a national scientific user facility. NSUF is DOE-NE's first ? and only ? user facility. ATR is celebrating its fiftieth anniversary later this year.


NSUF has grown over the past ten years to include 12 partner facilities and 42 participating institutions. Researchers around the world access extensive state-of-the-art nuclear research capabilities through NSUF's open and competitive review process. NSUF projects include major irradiation (neutron and ion), post-irradiation examinations (PIE) and beamline experiments. NSUF continues to focus on the mission of merging the national nuclear research infrastructure with intellectual capital to pair the best ideas with the needed capabilities.


Visit the NSUF team online at https://nsuf.inl.gov/.